Mother’s Day cards
I finished my Mother’s Day cards yesterday. I made 14 of these. Five were for my friend Shelley who would have made her own if it weren’t for the fact that she’s on bedrest for the next 17 weeks of her pregnancy. Please keep her in your prayers, friends! The other 9 were for the moms, grandmas and a few special friends in my life who I happen to think are awesome moms! I CASEd this card from Debbie Olson. See her card here:
http://debbiedesigns.typepad.com/muse_and_amuse/2007/05/just_be.html
The colors I used were Pretty in Pink, Cool Carribean and Certainly Celery. The color inspiration came from a sheet of dimensional stickers by K & Company (Marcella line at Target). They are so pretty and I almost just used those, but couldn’t bear to use them just yet, so I made my own using the “Delight in Life” flower on glossy cardstock adding a gem to the center. What I really don’t understand about Stampin Up’s in-color line is why they don’t offer markers in these colors? More than once I really could have used them. My solution is to use a blender pen and pick up the color from the ink pad lid. Because this is a lighter shade I went with Tempting Turquoise for the most part. I loved the look of Debbie’s card so I used my distressing tool from SU to make the edges look like they’d been “cut with a dull knife” as my hubby said. The stamps I used were from Technique Tuesday- “Whirlygigs” and “Whispygigs”. Because they are acrylic, these stamps can be manipulated to be different in shape each time you stamp them! I used my SU marker to add some dotted swirls of my own here and there as well. The air art tool added a little color in the blank spots. All the cards are different since I just played around a bit. The word window punch was used along with “Everyday Flexible Phrases” to denote who the card went to. I was pleased with the cards and they were pretty simple.
Have you been to Target lately? They have really stepped up their scrapbooking selection offering Primas and acrylic stamps by Autumn Leaves (yes, those awesome flourishes!) among other great things.
Tomorrow is my drawing! Be sure you comment on that particular post.
Blessings~
Angel

